Looking back on March!

I started this blog this month, so it’s been a really great experience getting stuck in, writing reviews and getting some wonderful followers both here and on Twitter. As for Twitter, I started tweeting in late Feb and I now have over 120 followers already! It’s also been a continuation of my NetGalley introduction, and I’ve read some great books.

I’ve always wanted to properly start up a book blog, and I’m honestly surprised it’s going so well. The book blogging community on Twitter are amazing, and having conversations with authors and publishing houses has been an exciting bonus that I never expected. Hopefully my blog will continue to grow and improve and I hope to write more and more posts.

I’ve also been contacted by publishers and publicists alike from NetGalley. I was lucky enough to be part of the cover reveal for Laini Taylor’s Strange the Dreamer, which was great fun and I honestly can’t wait for it to come out!

Book wise, I read 9 books, most from NetGalley, and mostly sci-fi. There’s the odd literary fiction and poetry dotted in there, but my life has definitely been taken up by the wonders of space travel and new technology over the last month. Usually, I’m not so focused into one genre, but I’ve got the sci-fi bug and it won’t leave!


The books I’ve read:

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel (NetGalley, Penguin)
The Phoenix Descent by Chick Grossart (NetGalley, 47 North)
Future Shock by Elizabeth Briggs (NetGalley, Albert Whitman and Company)

Queer Wars by Dennis Altman and Jonathon Simons (review to come)
We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (ebook, Anchor Books)
The Wolf in the Attic by Paul Kearney (NetGalley, Rebellion)

Quarter Life Poetry by Samantha Jayne (NetGalley, Grand Central Publishing)
Beacon 23 by Hugh Howey (ebook, Broad Reach Publishing)
The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber (hardback, Canongate)
You can’t bury them all by Patrick Woodcock (NetGalley, ECW Press)

My favourite was definitely The Book of Strange New Things, closely followed by The Phoenix Descent. Both I gave five stars to, which is a relatively rare thing for me to do.


Onto April, and I hope new and exciting things happen! I’ve got a few NetGalley books waiting to be read, and I’m planning on starting a weekly blog post or two. ‘Friday Finds’ is definitely interesting me, because I add so many books to my to-read lists. But I’ll be starting that up soon.

Overall, March has been an amazing month full of new things and fun adventures. Can’t wait to start my second month as a book blogger!

Leave a Reply

